Poetry, Writing

Hot & Cold & Nothing In-between

I want to be on
top of the world
but am unwilling
to climb even a mole hill
I want to grab IT by
the horns,
by the balls
but I’m either
too weak
or too disgusted
I want fame
but I am unwilling
to emerge from this,
dinged and dented, shell
I want Home Sweet Home
without paying a cent
I want love without
getting naked
I want it masked and
mysterious and
practically perfect
I want pleasure
and I want it to roll
and unfold forever
I want truth but I
like fantasy even better
I want respect,
I want it now,
and without having to give it
I want the Earth but I want
Starbucks to-go cups too
…and cars
I want family but not
red and green holidays,
toothaches,
ignorance,
incest,
smelly bathrooms,
ugly toes,
he-said-she-said’s,
why don’t you’s,
chatter-induced headaches
and taking care of Dad…
I want friendship,
health, and happiness
but I refuse to go out
and get it

14 thoughts on “Hot & Cold & Nothing In-between”

  1. When I hit the “like” button on this one, what I really mean is that we might be the same person… [smile]

  2. Great poem Terah! Life is filled with choices and at times it seems too much! When it comes down to it, I believe you will make good ones and the fame will find you. Yes. The choices others have made banged us about a lot. But we can choose differently and right now, I am flying! I know you will!

    1. You are a woman who has endured and has found healing, I surmise. Very inspirational to me, thank you for always being here for me. I regret that I do not visit your blog more and support you…please know that my internet use is extremely limited…fact I can only do it at work…2 days per week! Just wanted to let you know that girl..

      Again, thank you…you are right on every account.

Leave a Reply

