I’m not Unemployed, I’m a Writer

I’m a private person. With the exception of writing my memoir, I get squirmish if too much about me is revealed. I’ll often write a post here on WordPress and then just save the draft not wanting you to know my thoughts. As if knowing those thoughts you can crack the code and know everything about me.  A lot of those posts are your everyday post/rant-types. A sort-of “I’m not feeling inspired to write actual memoir or a pretty poem (as if I do that) or a short story so I’ll blah blah blah on here for five minutes about my day.” It’s like posting a status on Facebook only painfully longer.

My fellow bloggers do this well. Most the time, not all the time, I enjoy those though. I don’t mind reading that a blogger whose writing a thriller took the day off to do her laundry or that a musician strolled the art walk and didn’t play guitar but took pictures and here they are. I guess I’m always afraid of being irrelevant. But irrelevance is OK. It happens. Daily. Why not let a few of these rant blogs slip through. Thing is–it appears that at least a couple people look at my blog every day. Well, this blog is for you. So you don’t leave empty handed headed.

 

 

I’m not Unemployed, I’m a Writer 

On October 31, 2012 I applied for unemployment. I was officially laid off on the 30th. I can now go change the bio on my blog to read “unemployed” instead of “work at a young women’s substance abuse residential treatment facility”; or I can just leave that out, or just say “writer”. Now, for the first time, I am not a social worker and then writer or a park ranger who writes or a pizza slinger poet: I’m just a writer. I’m nothing else. And, I don’t have to accept work that pays less than my former job did or that isn’t work that I’m qualified to do. In other words: I don’t have to work until I find the right job for me. So for now, I’m a writer. If anybody asks, that’s what I am. And guess what? I just hired myself.

Wait what?

I just hired myself on the condition that I show up for work on time, can meet deadlines and be a great team player. Not wanting to wear myself out, I gave myself the ideal schedule. I work part time (in a perfect world, wouldn’t this be the case for all of us?) and have the weekends off.

 

 

 

Eugene Public Library

Schedule:

Monday: 10 – 2 (I just love Mondays! Everybody’s buzzing about, getting down to business!)
Tuesday: 3:30 to 11:00 p.m. (during this time I drive to my writer’s workshop in Portland) *every other Tuesday
Wednesday: 10 – 2
Thursday: 10 – 2

My office:

Eugene Public Library (just a skip, hop, jump from home)

 

 

 

 
Additional perk:

I get to wear whatever I want to work!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s the thing: I must stick to it. I must be the nicest most stern boss I’ve ever known!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tips? Have you done this? I know I have the determination but too my fear of failure sickens me. This is my dream schedule and my dream job. Surely I won’t quit or be fired. Here’s a post from a fellow blogger whose doing the same thing only she has a real job and kids and a husband and a…(pet, probably?)

Props to Marlene Luneng for making a schedule and sticking to it. (You’ve inspired me!)

8 thoughts on “I’m not Unemployed, I’m a Writer

  1. Gosh! What an amazing post. I feel the same as you about being irrelivant. I have many drafts and some that I posted that I often think back on and wonder if that was the best idea. You are not alone.

    I am so excited for you to go on your new journey. Scared? Nervous? I like what you say about being a stern boss. I gotta do that. Thank you for the linking my post but these last two days I have only got half an hour writing in. My boss is going to kick my ass! Gotta catch up!

    I am sorry you were laid off but you are a fabulous writer and I think something amazing could be around the corner for you. Especially with such an inspiring place to work as the Eugene Public Library. Gosh it looks amazing!

    Sorry my thank you came so late. I really appreciate your support:)

    Can’t wait to read more!

    1. Hi Marlene!

      Somedays, I post for you. In the future, I will post for you, because we are on the same page so to speak, are we not? This is excellent. Man, my boss is such a bitch. I wanted to leave early today because parking is such a hassel that I have to get up every two hours and move my car. But when I even thought about leaving and going home my boss said nooo way ilttle lady, youre not off the clock til two. Maybe Ill let u leave 5 minutes early. Hehe. But she did grant me permission to work on my blog on the clock. No Pinterest or Reddit but blog is OK. And maybe a little bit of news. Boy does it feel good to put in another days work. Its really refrreshing how so many ideas crop up in my mind and I have the space to just sit and write on them. The space and time is what any writer and artist needs. And the freedom to just sit and think.

      1. I think whats important is not being too hard on myself. Hard enough to make myself stick with the routine but then upon arrival to work–allowing myself to produce as little or as much work as I “feel”. Taking water breaks, lunch breaks, sit and stare out the window breaks, Breaks that other bosses never allow a person, you know? Im working in a healthy way and I love it.

        Thanks for th encouragment Marlene! This is fun!

  2. You can do it! I’ve been doing this for the last couple years. AND I have to say, writing IS a job. Just like “going to work”, there will be days you don’t want to get out of bed. Some days you can’t think of one word to write, and some days you sit in front of your computer/paper/pen with hands in hair waiting to pull it out.
    BUT – do it anyway.
    In 2 years of this schedule, I have completed nine (9) publications and my memoir is being released on Saturday.
    It is possible, you can do it, I believe in you!
    Read Stephen King’s memoir called “On Writing” it will change you. Here are a couple of my favorite quotes that keep me going on those wordless days.

    *”Writing is a lonely job. Having someone who believes in you makes a lot of difference. They don’t have to make speeches. Just believing is usually enough.”

    *”You can approach the act of writing with nervousness, excitement, hopefulness, or even despair–the sense that you can never completely put on the page what’s in your mind and heart. You can come to the act with your fists clenched and your eyes narrowed, ready to kick ass and take down names. You can come to it because you want a girl to marry you or because you want to change the world. Come to it any way but lightly. Let me say it again: you must not come lightly to the blank page.”

    1. Oh good a testimonial! Thank you Begin An Adventure!!! I can’t tell you how much it means to me to hear these things from you today. A true blessing, thank you so much.

      I’ve read “On Writing” by Stephen King and will use it again for inspiration. What I found interesting about that book (if I remember correctly) is that Stephen King THOUGHT he was dying? And he wrote that book knowing that it might be his only chance to tell the world HOW to write in the ways that worked for him any way. So he was very honest in what he wrote and said, very uncensored. I really appreciated that. And YOU today.

      Thank you so much.

      1. If you are around Portland at all on Saturday, come to my book release/signing event. I would love to buy you a glass of champagne and meet you in person.
        xoxo
        Rae
        p.s. Details of book release:
        Saturday November 10
        3pm-7pm
        Open Reception & signing event
        Blackbird Wine & Atomic Cheese
        4323 NE Fremont
        Portland

      2. Ooh this is exciting! I’ll definitely consider going up there–but I must be honest, it would be hard for me to swing it so sincere apologies if we do not meet there. Any other events coming up? Please let me know 🙂

        Thank you for the invitation ❤

Leave a Reply

